Bird Book Club

Our book club is an opportunity to read books, meet the authors, and join others in fun discussions. We meet once each month on a Thursday for about one hour beginning at 8 p.m. EST. To join, you must register for each session. Links are provided with upcoming books below. 

What people say about Bird Book Club:

Very informative presentation”   “The book club meeting was great”  “Thank you for this wonderful book club.” “I love this book club.” “Thank you so much!! The book is fascinating and awesome!”  “Thank you for this excellent talk tonight.”

See what we’ve read! 

Recordings available FOR RECENT SESSIONS

Bird Book Club - upcoming events

Better Living Through Birding: Notes from a Black Man in the Natural World by Christian Cooper on Thursday May 23rd at 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET

Register Here

Christian Cooper is a self-described “Blerd” (Black nerd), an avid comics fan and expert birder who devotes every spring to gazing upon the migratory birds that stop to rest in Central Park, just a subway ride away from where he lives in New York City. While in the park one morning in May 2020, Cooper was engaged in the birdwatching ritual that had been a part of his life since he was ten years old when what might have been a routine encounter with a dog walker exploded age-old racial tensions. Cooper’s viral video of the incident would send shock waves through the nation.

In Better Living Through Birding, Cooper tells the story of his extraordinary life leading up to the now-infamous incident in Central Park and shows how a life spent looking up at the birds prepared him, in the most uncanny of ways, to be a gay, Black man in America today. From sharpened senses that work just as well at a protest as in a park to what a bird like the Common Grackle can teach us about self-acceptance, Better Living Through Birding exults in the pleasures of a life lived in pursuit of the natural world and invites you to discover them yourself.

Alien Worlds by Steve Nicholls on Thursday June 27th, 10 am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET  Register Here.           

             

Life on Earth depends on the busy activities of insects, but global populations of these teeming creatures are currently under threat, with grave consequences for us all. Alien Worlds presents insects and other arthropods as you have never seen them before, explaining how they conquered the planet and why there are so many of them, and shedding light on the evolutionary marvels that enabled them to thrive. Blending glorious imagery with entertaining and informative science writing, this book takes you inside the hidden realm of insects and reveals why their fate carries profound implications for our own.

 

  • Spectacular photos provide a rare, up-close look at the alien worlds of insects
  • Sheds light on the origins and wondrous diversity of insects
  • Discusses how insects first took to the air and colonised the far corners of our planet
  • Explores the extraordinary sensory world of insects
  • Explains the remarkable success of social insects, from termites and ants to bees and wasps

Birds through Indigenous Eyes by Dennis Gaffin on August 29th at 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET   

 

Register Here          

For many hours over a period of years, white anthropologist Dennis Gaffin and two Indigenous friends, Michael Bastine and John Volpe, recorded their conversations about a shared passion: the birds of upstate New York and southern Ontario. In these lively, informal talks, Bastine (a healer and naturalist of Algonquin descent) and Volpe (a naturalist and animal rehabilitator of Ojibwe and Métis descent) shared their experiences of, and beliefs about, birds, describing the profound spiritual, psychological, and social roles of birds in the lives of some Indigenous people. Birds through Indigenous Eyes presents highlights of these conversations, placing them in context and showing how Native understandings of birds contrast with conventional Western views.

Birding to Change the World: A Memoir  by Trish O’Kane

On September 26th at 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET   

Register Here          

Trish O’Kane is an accidental ornithologist. In her nearly two decades writing about justice as an investigative journalist, she’d never paid attention to nature. But then Hurricane Katrina destroyed her New Orleans home, sending her into an emotional tailspin.

Enter a scrappy cast of feathered characters—first a cardinal, urban parrots, and sparrows, then a catbird, owls, a bittern, and a woodcock—that cheered her up and showed her a new path. Inspired, O’Kane moved to Madison, Wisconsin, to pursue an environmental studies PhD. There she became a full-on bird obsessive—logging hours in a stunningly biodiverse urban park, filling field notebooks with bird doings and dramas, and teaching ornithology to college students and middle-school kids.

When Warner Park—her daily birdwatching haven—was threatened with development, O’Kane and her neighbors mustered a mighty murmuration of nature lovers, young and old, to save the birds’ homes. Through their efforts, she learned that once you get outside and look around, you’re likely to fall in love with a furred or feathered creature—and find a flock of your own.

In Birding to Change the World, O’Kane details the astonishing science of bird life, from migration and parenting to the territorial defense strategies that influenced her own activism. A warm and compelling weave of science and social engagement, this is the story of an improbably band of bird lovers who saved their park. And it is a blueprint for muscular citizenship, powered by joy.

ajax-loader